Colonial Revival architecture in North Carolina is exemplified in Charlotte’s historic Myers Park. Built in 1915, the Duke Mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is simply a sight to behold. Many of our most elite social leaders have called Charlotte NC Myers Park- The Duke Mansion home and have contributed significantly to Charlotte’s rich history.
Southern Public Utilities’ former president, Zebulon V. Taylor built ‘Lynnwood’ on 14 acres in Myers Park and called it home for four years. James B. Duke, founder of Duke Energy (formerly Southern Public Utilities) purchased and tripled the size of the home to its current size of 32,000 square feet. During James (‘Buck’) Duke’s ownership, many lasting legacies were created on the grounds including Duke University, Duke Power Company (now Duke Energy) and the Duke Endowment.
The Duke Endowment was created in 1924 and by 1925, at the time of Buck Duke’s death, more than $100 million had been established in the Endowment! The Duke Mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is simply a sight to behold. Many of our most elite social leaders who have contributed significantly to Charlotte’s history have called Charlotte NC Myers Park – Duke Mansion home. That same year, a local radio station (WBT) owner, C.C. Coddington, who also owned the local Buick dealership, purchased the home and lived there until his death three years later.
Martin L. Cannon, son of the founder of Cannon Mills, purchased the home in 1929 and renamed it “White Oaks.” The Cannons were very active in Charlotte’s community and some of Charlotte’s prominent buildings are named after the Cannons. Among them, Cannon Campus of Charlotte Country Day School and the Cannon Research Center at Carolinas Medical Center. The Cannons, opened White Oaks up as an ‘official guest house for special visitors,’ starting the tradition of the elite ‘bed and breakfast that it serves as today.
In 1949 the Cannons bequeathed White Oaks and 3 acres to Myers Park Presbyterian Church; in 1957, Henry & Clayton Lineberger purchased the home from the church. The Linebergers were a textile family from Belmont and spent years restoring the home and grounds to their original splendor.
In 1966, a large fire gutted the entire third floor and the Linebergers, again, spent years restoring the Duke Mansion. In 1976, upon the death of Mr. Lineberger, the home was left to the Duke Endowment. The home was then protected as a community ‘treasure’ by becoming a community conference center, only to be purchased one year later by developer William Allan. The Mansion was then converted into condos until 1989.
Rick & Dee Ray (Raycom Sports) then purchased the home and restored it to its original splendor once again. Now known as the ‘Grand Dame of Myers Park’ the home is now permanently protected as a nonprofit and in 1998 became an Historic Inn and Meeting Place.
In 2000, Duke Energy donated a $4.5 million gift to transform the home and help the foundation become debt-free. There are now 20 rooms available for guests and the grounds are simply breathtaking! The Duke Mansion celebrates her 95th birthday this year! So much history, so little space here! If only those walls could dictate to me!
Today, the most extraordinary of weddings and meetings are held here on the grounds; the Mansion has a full staff of event planners and chefs and the rooms are lavishly furnished for your incredibly luxurious overnight stay!
You simply must visit ‘The Mansion;’ envelope yourself in the splendor that is rich in history – Charlotte NC history ! Give us a call for your private tour of one of Charlotte’s most historic areas !
Charlotte North Carolina Real Estate
Debe Maxwell, CRS, Realtor®/Broker
THE MAXWELL HOUSE GROUP REAL ESTATE
1920 E. 7th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
Mobile: (704) 491-3310
Fax: (704) 353-7014